Tags

,

We chase wealth. We hunger for power. We yearn for health. One fine day, we realize the emptiness of all our pursuits and then look for something more enduring.

The Lord waits for that day.

Thiruchanda Virutham – The Eleventh set of Ten

Lakshmi poses for Ananya

852. Ocean colored Lord! May you live long! If you desire to bestow any boon to this devotee of yours, grant me this – My mind wanders here & there. Please allow it to be still and meditate on your lotus feet!

853. Oh Lord who slumbers in the ocean! You manifested as the mighty Varaha! You built a bridge on the sea! Please dispel the diseases from this body of mine that is attached in devotion to your lotus feet!

854. Lakshmi resides in your heart! Leader of the celestials! The meaning of the Vedas! Flawless one! Grant me the boon of ceaselessly chanting your names.

855. You severed the heads of wicked Asuras like Kavandan, Vakran, Karan & Muran. Whether I slumber, stand, walk or sit, I should always think of your lotus feet!

856. You swallowed this earth (toddler Krishna swallows mud and is caught red handed by Yashoda!) and then you measured three paces of this earth (as Vamana). Without your grace, this world will not function at all! You are the beloved of Lashmi – who speaks sweetly! There is no form other than your body worth worshipping!

857. You killed the furious Kalanemi! You carry five weapons in your arms! Out of love for the cowherd folk and their cattle, you lifted the mountain to shelter them! There is no one other than you whom I adore!

858. My Lord! Due to the wicked deeds committed by them, the king of Kasi, Vakran, Paundran, Mali, Sumali, Kesi and Denuka met their end in your hands. I am indebted to your holy feet. I dwell my thoughts on nothing else!

859. I will forsake the world of Brahma, the world of Siva and the world of 1000 eyed Indra; just to be with you!

860. You shrunk yourself as Vamana and then expanded yourself to become Trivikrama and destroyed the egos of people like Mahabali. Like the sages who sing your praises, I too would like like to sing of you!

861. You wear the Tulasi garland around which honey bees fly around buzzing. You are the ocean colored Lord who slumbers on the ocean. With your motherly affection, you make even a lowly dog like me to feel pure and blessed!

Let your pursuits be worth it. 🙂