Tags

, ,

Tirumangai Alwar was the Robin Hood of those times. He robbed the rich so that he could feed the devotees of the Lord. It was when he attempted to rob from the Lord himself, that he realized the error of his ways.

It is not enough if our intentions are good. We need to ensure that our actions are good too.

Periya Thirumozhi – The First Set of Ten

Tirumangai Alwar poses for Anjana

948. I was caught in this world of endless sorrow. I ran behind women wrongly thinking that it would lead to happiness. It was the Lord who helped me to discern right from wrong. I now know the divine name –‘Narayana’!

949. I lost myself in the bosom of a woman calling her ‘my love’ & ‘my nectar’. In Kudanthai (present day Kumbakonam), where swans frolic, I got the opportunity to chant the divine name –‘Narayana’!

950. Though I wanted to be good, I was led astray. I was overwhelmed with desire for a woman. But now, I have learnt to chant – ‘Narayana’, the name of the Lord who stays for ever in the heart of his devotees.

951. I desired victory and yet, was ensnared in materialistic pursuits. I succumbed to the viles of a woman. It was when I struggled to live that I came upon the Lord who carries the discus. I now know to chant – ‘Narayana’!

952. I became a thief and did many wicked deeds. I wandered here & there. Yet, I now have become clear of thought. By the grace of God, I have found the right path. In gratitude, my eyes bathe my body with tears of joy. Day & night, I chant the name of ‘Narayana’.

953. Devotees of the Lord! It was the very Lord who felled asuras with his arrows, who has been my friend and father. I worship him who resides in the Thanjavur temple (Neelamega Perumal Koil – one of the 108 Divya Desams) and chant his name – ‘Narayana’.

954. Oh poets! Without knowing who a person is or where he hails from and not even knowing that a person who is wealthy now may have been poor earlier, you praise him as the Karpaga Tree (the mythical desire fulfilling tree). Instead, sing the name of ‘Narayana’ who resides in Kudanthai (Kumbakonam) where there are plentiful lakes.

955. I am not a learned person. I went where my five senses beckoned. I hurt a lot of good people. By the grace of Lord, I have now reformed. I have found the right path. I have taken refuge in the name of ‘Narayana’.

956. It grants exalted status. It grants wealth. It destroys sorrow. It grants refuge. It grants the grace of the Lord. It takes care of us even more than our own mother. I have found that which grants all of this, the name of ‘Narayana’. (This verse ‘Kulam tharum, Selvam thandhidum’ is said to have been recited by Tirumangai Alwar when the Lord gives him darshan. When we are asked to chant a matra or recite a shloka, we want to know what benefit we get from it. This is called ‘Phala Stuti’. This verse tells you the benefit of chanting the Lord’s name. As you can see, the benefits are immense!)

957. This garland of verses has been composed by Tirumangai who holds a shining sword in his hands. Chant the name of ‘Narayana’ through out your life so that your burden of sins can be utterly destroyed.

May the name of ‘Narayana’ be on your lips too. 🙂