Tags

, ,

The Srirangam temple is home to not one but three love stories. These are the stories of Andal, Cherakulavalli and Bibi Nachiyar. All three were mortals who fell in love with the Lord and whose love was eventually reciprocated.

Periya Thirumozhi – The Forty Fifth Set of Ten

Anjana & Ananya show-off their bangle collection

1388. My daughter shares what’s in her mind with me by ceaselessly chanting – ‘Venkatam, Venkatam!’. My daughter, whose eyes are shaped like a sword has forgotten to sleep. She no longer fits into my lap. (She has grown up!) What can I say about the cruel snares of love weaved by the one who is dark-hued, who is the very life of the celestials & who is the consort of Shri (Lakshmi)?

1389. My daughter says – ‘My sari no longer is alluring. My bangles slip away from my slender wrists. What can I do? Will the Lord accept me or will he reject me?’ What can I say about the affection shown by the Lord who resides on the holy hill, who is the Lord of the Devas and felled seven trees with a single arrow?

1390. Tears roll down from the doe-shaped eyes of my daughter. Bangles have fallen away from her wrists. She refuses to go to sleep and instead ceaselessly talks about the fragrance of the Tulsi garland worn by the Lord. See for yourself! I know not what the son of Nandagopa, the butter-thief, has done to my daughter!

1391. My daughter refuses to speak to me. She refuses to meet her friends. She refuses to smear herself with fragrant sandalwood paste. She keeps asking- ‘Where is Srirangam?’ Dear girls, I am unable to tell you what the one who suckled Putana to death has done to my daughter!

1392. My daughter refuses to adorn herself with ornaments or to smear herself with sandalwood paste.  She has stopped applying kajal to her eyes. She no longer wears flowers. She keeps asking – ‘Where is Srirangam that is so dear to my Lord?’ Dear mothers, I am not able to tell you what the Lord of Shri – who resides on a flower and who is of the cowherd clan; has done to my daughter!

1393. My daughter asks –‘When will the Lord garland me with fragrant flowers?’ When I try to console her, she keeps saying ‘Srirangam is dear to my Lord!’. What has the Lord, who is husband to Shri who resides on a Lotus flower, who killed the asura Madhu and who went as the messenger of the five brothers; done to my daughter?

1394. My daughter’s body clad in sari has discolored (in sorrow). She speaks nothing else other than the name of the Lord. What can I do with this girl? What can I say about the Lord who wears a garland, who is Aravamudhan of Tirukudanthai (Kumbakonam) and who was charioteer to the Pandavas during the war; done to my daughter?

1395. Is there not one relation who can advise my daughter? (There was scarcity of well-meaning relatives even then!) People are gossiping about her behavior. She keeps chanting – ‘Madhava!’. Dear mothers, see what the Lord who frees us from pangs of re-birth & who is merciful; has done to my daughter!

1396. My young daughter no longer plays with her ball. She no longer feeds milk to her pet parrot. She keeps asking if the Lord of Srirangam has arrived. Dear mothers, I know not what the Lord who knows the Chandogya Upanishad, who is the object of all yagnas, Taittiriya Upanishad & Sama Veda; has done to my daughter.

1397. These verses recited by a worried mother about her daughter who pines for the Lord of Srirangam where fish frolic in the waters of the lush paddy fields, is composed by Tirumangai. Those who chant these verses will reign under an umbrella of pearls like a king.

Keep your umbrella handy! Chennai’s summer is sizzling hot! 😊